Okamisan and Her Seven Companions

Plot Summary: Ryoushi Morino is very afraid of people looking directly at him. Because of this he has become a master at blending in his surroundings.  After he confesses his feelings to Ryouko Ookami she turns him down and Ringo Akai recruits him into their school club the Otogi Bank where they help people with their problems.

The first thing you’re going to notice about this show is that it parodies a bunch of fairy tales. Though since this is a Japanese television show a significant number of them will be Japanese fairy tales. So unless you know someone who has lived the first ten years of their life in Japan and is willing to explain all of the parodies to you then you’re not going to understand all of them. But most of the fairy tales are of English origin so it’s not too big of a problem.

The story is pretty episodic and usually involves the main characters helping someone with whatever problem they have. And at the end of each episode whatever problem the main characters were helping with always turns out alright. The characters are all interesting enough, though the ones I found the most interesting like Majolica and Otsuu didn’t have as much character depth as I would have liked. I didn’t find the shows female lead, Ryouko, to be as like-able as other tsundere characters (like Holo from Spice and Wolf.) The same is true for Ringo for other “Older Than They Look” characters. Though the male lead Ryoushi was very different from other male leads and very interesting.

Okamisan looks and sounds okay, not as good as other shows like it, but I’ve seen worse. The character designs are all really nice looking and original. And the opening and ending themes are good, but if you’re marathoning this show you’ll probably end up skipping them after the first time they play.

The show itself was fun and enjoyable but not something I’d want to watch a bunch of times on DVD. And considering that you an see it on Funimation website (and Hulu) I can’t really recommend buying this show on DVD unless you really want a dub (or if Funi’s limited edition premium item is really good.) I hope the light novels are licensed I imagine that they’re better than the anime.

3/5

Notes:

Viewed on: I saw the first five episodes on fansub after they aired. Then Funimation started simulcasting Okamisan and I watched the rest on Hulu. The only episode I rewatched after it was put on Hulu is the first one.

Can I show this to my younger cousins? Despite some light fanservice and Funi giving this a TV-14 rating I think that most parents would be fine with their kids watching this. The violence is bloodless and I don’t think most children would notice the fanservice. And I think children would find the fairytale parodies more enjoyable than adults would.

The Good: Good character designs, original concept, overall a fun show.

The Bad: The characters aren’t as good as in other shows, not something I would want to buy on DVD while it was viewable on a streaming site.

Maj LE FAY

2 responses to “Okamisan and Her Seven Companions

  1. The real problem with this anime is the random drama the putted up on a series otherwise very light!

  2. I’d be interested in seeing all the fairytale references. However, it sounds like the anime is merely decent. Enjoyable, but not spectacular. As such, I’d probably skip on it.

Leave a comment